You want to link your home network to an outbuilding, like a garage or workshop, and wired is the only way to go. How do you run the Ethernet cable safely to the secondary building?

Today’s Question & Answer session comes to us courtesy of SuperUser—a subdivision of Stack Exchange, a community-driven grouping of Q&A web sites.

The Question

SuperUser reader Yoyoyoyosef is ready to wire his garage with Ethernet, but he has a few questions:

The best way to avoid a minor accident (or a big tragedy) later on is to ask good questions before you start a project; he’s off to a good start here.

  1. Is there special outdoor-rated cat5e/cat6 I should use? 2. If put it in a dug trench, do I need to put it in conduit? 3. If I run parallel to electric, how much separation do I need, and do I go UTP or STP? 4. If I do an overhead run, how should I properly ground it against lightning?

The Answer

SuperUser contributor Jweede offers some advice:

Another contributor, Keck, suggests combining the two installation techniques:

Is there special outdoor-rated cat5e/cat6 I should use?

“Preferably, special exterior or direct burial CAT5 cables should be used for outdoor runs instead of ordinary CAT5.”

If put it in a dug trench, do I need to put it in conduit?

“Exterior-grade Ethernet cables are waterproof and thus do not require conduit.”

If I run parallel to electric, how much separation do I need, and do I go UTP or STP?

“5-20cm (6-8 inches) and at least that far away from power lines or other sources of electrical interference.”

If I do an overhead run, how should I properly ground it against lightning?

“Accordingly, CAT5 surge protectors should be installed as part of outdoor Ethernet networks to guard against lightning strikes.”

When it comes to underground/remote cable installation, it’s definitely worth the extra money up front to do it right (and avoid the headache of pulling new cable, fixing a sloppy installation, or otherwise doing the whole thing over at a later date).

Have something to add to the explanation? Sound off in the the comments. Want to read more answers from other tech-savvy Stack Exchange users? Check out the full discussion thread here.