There is nothing quite like the awesome feeling of finally being able to perform a major upgrade on your computer, but what do you do when your system refuses to make use of the whole upgrade? Today’s SuperUser Q&A post has the answer to a frustrated reader’s question.

Today’s Question & Answer session comes to us courtesy of SuperUser—a subdivision of Stack Exchange, a community-driven grouping of Q&A web sites.

Photo courtesy of Daniel Dionne (Flickr).

The Question

SuperUser reader Chairman Meow wants to know why his Windows 7 system is not using all of the RAM available on his computer:

Why is Chairman Meow’s Windows 7 system unable to use the other 4 GB of RAM?

I have four slots on the motherboard. I installed two 8 GB sticks of RAM closest to the CPU and two 2 GB sticks of RAM in the remaining slots. I made sure that the RAM sticks are the same (DDR3, 1600 MHz). Just in case it matters, I also installed a GTX 770 GPU with 2 GB of memory. Here is a list of the specifications for my motherboard: P8P67_LE Motherboard (Asus).

What am I doing wrong? Why am I seeing this issue in my computer’s Control Panel?

The Answer

SuperUser contributor Canadian Luke has the answer for us:

Have something to add to the explanation? Sound off in the comments. Want to read more answers from other tech-savvy Stack Exchange users? Check out the full discussion thread here.

Physical Memory Limits for Windows and Windows Server Releases Note: This link is set to the Windows 7 portion of the support page.